Support Forums

Spam

This is a discussion on Spam within the Technical Support forums, part of the Technical Support Forums category; What version of 68 Classifieds are you running? 4.10 Dev In regards to http://www.68classifieds.com/forums/...-spammers.html Is there any chance someone could ...


Go Back   68 Classifieds Forums > Technical Support Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2010, 12:29 AM   #1
Genius At Work
 
bowers01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,089
Rep Power: 37
bowers01 is on a distinguished road
Default Spam

What version of 68 Classifieds are you running?
4.10 Dev

In regards to Spammers...

Is there any chance someone could have a quick look at ecirs module to see why it doesnt work? I tested it myself and the mail still comes straight though.

It is obvisouly the same prick thats doing it to everyone, why they would do it is another question. They are not going to benifit from this at all, so whether it is another company that sells a classifieds script and is trying to drive people away from 68c i dont know.
I have other sites all listed in the same place and they only seem to be hitting my classified site.
This is just a guess with no evidence what so ever.

Nick
__________________
Nick Bowers
68c v4.1.10 Developer Custom Template
bowers01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 07:09 AM   #2
All Hands On Deck
 
seymourjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,524
Rep Power: 89
seymourjames is a jewel in the rough
Default

Most of the spam of this non-sensical type is designed purely to flood the internet and make it more difficult for law enforcement agencies to decipher true criminal intent in other emails. Like hiding a needle in a haystack. It is possible that 68C sites are targeted but I doubt it. How would anyone get a list of them.
__________________
"The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.".

TemplateCodes.com for 68C
seymourjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 08:49 AM   #3
Developer & Moderator
 
Mike-N-Tosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,424
Rep Power: 75
Mike-N-Tosh is just really nice Mike-N-Tosh is just really nice
Default

Curious as to whether this spam that you are getting is through contact or contact the owner? The module posted by Eric is only for the contact owner.
__________________
Mike-N-Tosh
IndianaPC.org - A community website (v3.1.10 Developer - heavily modified & used as the CMS)
Sandbox [localhost(v3.1.10, v4.0.9, 4.1.10,4.2,5.0)] for development and customization
Visit My blog: reviews, tips, tricks, tutorials and my store with Templates, Mods & Docs
Web Hosting | Web Design & Development | 68 Classifieds Customizations
I am not a 68C employee, just a user and try to help out
Mike-N-Tosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:39 AM   #4
Genius At Work
 
bowers01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,089
Rep Power: 37
bowers01 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-N-Tosh View Post
Curious as to whether this spam that you are getting is through contact or contact the owner? The module posted by Eric is only for the contact owner.
O that explains alot, i got one of these messages for each ad placed on the site. I have 10 ads on my site and i got 10 spam emails so i can assume it was sent to every single ad.

How hard is it to change that module to do it for contact the owner?

@ David: that makes sense. There once was a place on here that had a list of all customer sites, cant find it now and dont even know if it exists any more.

Regards,
Nick
__________________
Nick Bowers
68c v4.1.10 Developer Custom Template
bowers01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 10:16 AM   #5
Genius At Work
 
bowers01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,089
Rep Power: 37
bowers01 is on a distinguished road
Default

looking at it further it uses
$modules->register('contact_owner_submit', $this, 'checkit');
contact_owner_submit is the viewlisting contact form, so something else is happening.
Nick
__________________
Nick Bowers
68c v4.1.10 Developer Custom Template
bowers01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 11:15 AM   #6
Developer & Moderator
 
Mike-N-Tosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,424
Rep Power: 75
Mike-N-Tosh is just really nice Mike-N-Tosh is just really nice
Default

Have you checked your log files for access to your site?

If they are not actually visiting your site and it is just a script (bot) running that goes to a generated link, then they wouldn't have a session started. Typically, if this is the case your log will show the first entry of the visit to a direct link.

I was getting hit heavily, but through the contact us link. The access to the site was a formatted link as if they clicked on the "Report this Ad" within the viewlisting, but the access logs showed that they actually were not. What was really stupid about it is that the email only goes to the admin. another completely non-sensical spam attack.

Bottom line is to thwart this you need to know both how they are entering the site as well as how they are sending the message.

In your case, what I don't understand is that if they are sending it through contact the owner, then why are you getting the emails? Are these your own ads?
__________________
Mike-N-Tosh
IndianaPC.org - A community website (v3.1.10 Developer - heavily modified & used as the CMS)
Sandbox [localhost(v3.1.10, v4.0.9, 4.1.10,4.2,5.0)] for development and customization
Visit My blog: reviews, tips, tricks, tutorials and my store with Templates, Mods & Docs
Web Hosting | Web Design & Development | 68 Classifieds Customizations
I am not a 68C employee, just a user and try to help out
Mike-N-Tosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 11:19 AM   #7
Genius At Work
 
bowers01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,089
Rep Power: 37
bowers01 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-N-Tosh View Post
Have you checked your log files for access to your site?

In your case, what I don't understand is that if they are sending it through contact the owner, then why are you getting the emails? Are these your own ads?
No i havnt, i will do that first thing in the morning.

I have 10 of my own ads on there which is why i am getting them. The reCap seems to have stopped it (well i havnt got any spam though my listings yet) But i want to try and remove that as people with bad eyesight cant see it properly.
I am looking at setting up something like this
Honeypot Captcha

Cheers,
Nick
__________________
Nick Bowers
68c v4.1.10 Developer Custom Template
bowers01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how can I get rid of this spam? Isje Technical Support 9 10-13-2009 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0